Setting default website roles
Admin>Partner-Related>Partner Type Default Website Roles to set default roles that a partner should have based on its partner type(s). As you set up partner employees inside a partner, they inherit the rights you have set for a given partner type.
You can also manually set roles on each employee, but we recommend that you use the Partner Default Website Roles, as then you won’t have to look at each individual employee for every client. You will know what they are allowed to see and do based on the partner type.
There are four major areas where you get to be even more granular with rights.
Partners viewing other partners
Admin>Partner Related>Partner Types, edit each partner type and click the Edit button to the right of Website Visibility. For example, edit the Builder partner type and check off which other partner types the Builder should not be allowed to see on the website. If they have the View Partners role enabled, then they will only be able to view the partner types that you have not restricted here. If they do not have the View Partner role, then they won’t be able to view any partners on the website.
Partners viewing documents
Admin>Documents & Templates>Document Types, dictate the document types that a given partner type can see. You can also default a document type to be internal (no one can see that document type on the website), or you can allow all partners to see a document type or only specific partner types to see a document type.
Partners viewing actions
Admin>Action Lists>Global Actions, set which actions a partner type can see by setting the viewing rights on the global action. Typically only milestone actions would be displayed on the website (e.g. Search Complete, Title Work Complete, Funding Approved, etc.).
The actions that are more for behind-the-scenes functions probably are not applicable for being displayed on the website (e.g. Call for Payoff, Order Survey, Send Order Thank You to Client, etc.). When editing a global action, the action can be marked Internal Only (which mean no one will be able to view this action on the website) or click the Website Partner Type Restrictions button to select specific partner types that can view this action on the website.
Partners viewing notes
Notes are treated a bit differently. The following office options are applicable:
- Notes: Default Internal Only – If enabled, all notes created by users will be defaulted to be Internal Only. So notes will not be visible on the website unless a user unchecks the Internal Only checkbox on the note.
- Misc: Force Incoming Email notes to be marked Internal – If enabled, incoming emails that are attached to Resware automatically will be marked Internal Only.
For notes that users attach via the website, there are also office options that can block the viewing of those or have them only viewable by the partner that added them.
- Website: Users Can See Their Own Documents and Notes Even if Marked Internal – If enabled, website users will still be able to view notes that they added via the website, even if that note is marked as Internal Only.
- Website: All Notes Added Via Web Are Marked As Internal Only – If enabled, all notes added by users on the website will default to being internal only.
For notes that internal users create on a file, the user can mark them as Internal or not.